The Greater Sydney Commission has unveiled their plan for a three-city metropolis, which will see NSW Parliament moved to Parramatta to better mirror and represent population growth and destiny. These plans are hoped to be in full swing by 2025.

“What could be more logical than having our government right in the heart of the city where most of the population is based?” asked Greater Sydney Commission chief commissioner Lucy Turnbull of the ambitious new plans.

The three cities will be Eastern City — the CBD, plus a region stretching from Macquarie Park to Kogarah — Central City (the Greater Parramatta area), and Western City, which will incorporate Camden, Campbell, Liverpool Penrith, and two new hubs to be developed around the new Western City Airport.

Three cities - the future plan for Sydney

“Each of these three cities will have their own unique identity and each must be planned to maximise liveability, productivity and sustainability”, an outline explains.

All of these cities will also hopefully score better names as the plans develop.

“It is essential to embrace the concept of the three cities”, the outline continues, “as Greater Sydney’s population grows from its current level of 4.6 million to six million in 20 years, to eight million in 2056 with most of the growth taking place in the west.

“If current trends continue, by 2036 over 50 per cent of Sydney’s population will live west of Parramatta.”

Check out the plans, below.

Tell Us What You Think