It’s been twenty years since Silverchair released their awesome second album Freak Show and to mark this occasion — and because there are some massive songs in the Silverchair catalogue — UNFD will release Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair.

The likes of The Amity Affliction, Hands Like Houses, Tonight Alive, In Hearts Wake, Ocean Grove and more will tackle songs from the band’s discography, including the below lead single, Northlane’s version of the ‘Anthem For The Year 2000′, Daniel Johns’ ode to the Y2K bug.

“Anthem For The Year 2000 was the first Silverchair song I ever heard”, guitarist Jon Deiley said. “To me as a young kid, it was intense and heavy and it wasn’t til a few years later that I really began to appreciate the impact their music had on me at an early age.

“I think Australia’s love for Silverchair runs deep and their influence on Australian music is still felt today. There’s very few bands who can bring together artists to celebrate their work, and Silverchair is one of them.”

Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair will be available from November 17 from iTunes and The Rock Shop.

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow
2.Void of Vision – Israel’s Son
3. In Hearts Wake – Freak
4. The Brave – Cemetery
5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000
6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)
7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)
8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness
9. Tonight Alive – Without You
10. Columbus – Straight Lines


Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine