Nashville’s David Ferguson and NYC guitarist, composer, and producer Matt Sweeney came together to create the unique five-track EP for Red Dead Redemption 2: The Housebuilding EP. And the result was magical.

The title track of the EP has been a fan favourite since the game’s release back in 2018. It’s also the focus track of the release, outlining a story of simply how to build a house, while at the same time, providing its own western country twang.

As per Soundtracks Scores and More, The Housebuilding EP is a particularly noteworthy release, as it not only features the beloved ‘The Housebuilding Song’, but it also includes previously unreleased tracks from the video game.

And if you’re unfamiliar with the artists behind the game’s soundtrack, it’s time that we all got acquainted. Especially as it’s definitely no exaggeration in saying that both David Ferguson and Matt Sweeney’s resumes are certainly decorated.

Ferguson is known as the “right-hand man” for his sound engineering work with Johnny Cash, as well as for Jack Clement. On the other hand, Sweeney is a guitarist, composer as well as a producer whose running list of work can be heard on albums by artists including Johnny Cash, Adele, Run The Jewels and none other than Iggy Pop.

Anyone that has been involved in making this soundtrack happen are nothing short of top tier. The soundtrack has also been released via Lakeshore Records – a record label who are prolific in providing us with so many well-known shows and movies.

Their most recent soundtrack releases have included work for Netflix series, Bridgerton, as well as the third Bill & Ted rendition: Bill & Ted Face the Music.

Check out the Housebuilding EP tracklist.

1.     The Housebuilding Song
2.    A Strange Kindness
3.    A Quiet Time (Saloon Theme)
4.    The Course of True Love
5.    Do Not Seek Absolution

Watch David Ferguson and Matt Sweeney perform ‘A Quiet Time’ below.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine