Edgar Wright, director of Scott Pilgrim vs. the World recently confirmed that an anime adaptation of Scott Pilgrim is coming.

Scott Pilgrim is officially getting an anime adaptation that will be released on Netflix. The cast members from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World who are confirmed to be returning for the adaptation are Michael Cera (Scott Pilgrim), Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Ramona Flowers), Satya Bhabha (Matthew Patel), Kieran Culkin (Wallace Wells), Chris Evans (Lucas Lee), Anna Kendrick (Stacey Pilgrim), Brie Larson (Envy Adams), Alison Pill (Kim Pine), Aubrey Plaza (Julie Powers), Brandon Routh (Todd Ingram), Jason Schwartzman (Gideon Graves), Johnny Simmons (Young Neil), Mark Webber (Stephen Stills), Mae Whitman (Roxie), and Ellen Wong (Knives Chau).

Creator of the Scott Pilgrim graphic novels, Bryan Lee O’Malley, is set to co-write and executive produce the new adaptation alongside BenDavid Grabinski. The pair will also serve as showrunners. O’Malley and Grabinski also confirmed that Science Saru will be animating the series. Edgar Wright will come on as an executive producer while Anamaguchi and Joseph Trapanese are set to develop the score together.

“This is not a drill! This is happening!

After much musing over the years about there being potential for an anime adaptation of ‘Scott Pilgrim’, I’m thrilled to say one is IMMINENT, with the whole cast back together and… you are going to lose your minds.”

“One of the proudest, most enjoyable achievements of my career was assembling the dynamite cast of Scott Pilgrim. Since the film’s release in 2010 we’ve done Q&As and charity read throughs, but there was never the occasion to reunite the gang on an actual project. Until now…”

“Original creator Bryan Lee O’Malley, (@bryanleeomalley) along with writer BenDavid Grabinski (@bdgrabinski) have conjured up an anime series of Scott Pilgrim with the geniuses at @sciencesaru that doesn’t just expand the universe, but also…well, just watch it.”

“ALL-NEW anime series coming soon to @netflix! With Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, @satyabhabha, Kieran Culkin, @chrisevans, @annakendrick47, @brielarson, Alison Pill, @evilhag, @brandonjrouth, Jason Schwartzman, Johnny Simmons, @likemark, @maebirdwing & @ellewongster!”

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine